Abstracts‎ > ‎Poster Abstracts 2019‎ > ‎

Anna Elsukova: Organic Ice Resist Lithography: a new twist on electron-beam based nanofabrication

posted 6 Aug 2019, 08:11 by info admin
Anna Elsukova1, Ding Zhao1, Anpan Han2, and Marco Beleggia1
1National Centre for Nano Fabrication and Characterization, Technical University of Denmark, Kongens Lyngby, 2800, Denmark  
2Department of Mechanical Engineering, Technical University of Denmark, Kongens Lyngby, 2800, Denmark  

We will present a novel nanofabrication method – Organic Ice Resist Lithography (OIRL) [1,2]. OIRL is a new approach to electron beam lithography where, instead of using a conventional resist, we deposit a layer of solidified organic material (organic ice) from spraying a vapor onto a substrate cooled down to liquid nitrogen temperature. Organic ice polymerizes under the electron beam (e-beam), so that the exposed areas become non-volatile at room temperature. After heating up the substrate, the unexposed ice sublimates, while the structures defined by e-beam remain. Thus, organic ice acts as a negative tone resist. OIRL offers several advantages for the fabrication of devices based on 2D materials. First, the whole process takes place in a single instrument, enabling easy and straightforward fabrication of 3D layered structures. Second, since the resist material is deposited from vapor, substrates with complex surface morphologies can be patterned without needing sophisticated sample holders or implementing special patterning protocols. Finally, and most crucially, OIRL does not require chemical development and leaves no contamination or residuals. 

[1] W. Tiddi et al. Nano Lett. 17, 7886-7891 (2017)
[2] A. Elsukova et al. Nano Lett. 18, 7576-7582 (2018)

Anna Elsukova received her PhD in 2014 from the University Duisburg-Essen, Germany, where she studied structure of magnetic materials with transmission electron microscopy. After a postdoc at the Technical University of Toyohashi in Japan, she joined the ice lithography team at the Technical University of Denmark (DTU) in 2017.